Wednesday , December 13 2017
Home / Entertainments / Seven sportsman are among the list of Padma Shri this year

Seven sportsman are among the list of Padma Shri this year

Padma Shri award is known as the the fourth highest civilian award in the Republic of India, after the Bharat Ratna, the Padma Vibhushan and the Padma Bhushan. Awarded by the Government of India, it is announced every year on India’s Republic Day. This year the interesting story is there are seven sportsman among the list.

The list is as follows

  • Indian cricket captain Virat Kohli
  • Olympian Sakshi Malik
  • Gymnast Dipa Karmakar
  • Discus thrower Vikas Gowda
  • National hockey team captain PR Sreejesh
  • Captain of India’s blind cricket team Shekhar Naik
  • Paralympics gold medallist Mariyappan Thangavelu.



Singer Kailash Kher, Hindi writer Narendra Kohli and journalist HR Shah will also be accorded the fourth highest civilian honour, the source said.


About Kamal Negi

Check Also

Dhawan Out of the First Three ODI’s Against Ausies

India opener Shikhar Dhawan has been released from the team for the first three ODIs …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *